Manuel Leyva
Director 
Bilingual Education 
Office: (575) 882-6714
Fax: (575) 882-6207
mleyva@gisd.k12.nm.us

Karla M. Quesada
Budget Specialist
Bilingual Education 
Office: (575) 882-6282
Fax: (575) 882-6207
kquesada@gisd.k12.nm.us

The vision of the GISD Bilingual Department is to foster a culture of collaboration from all stakeholders that advocates and ensures educational equity by creating a learning environment that appreciates linguistic and cultural diversity.

Our mission, through a shared responsibility with administrators, teachers, parents and the community, is to ensure all Language Learners attain high levels of academic and language proficiency through research-based instructional strategies. Cultural and linguistic diversity is embraced to promote a safe and optimum learning environment.

Elem. Bilingual Specialists

Margarita Barraza
GE, LLE, MQE, VE
PH: 575-882-6778
marbarraza@gisd.k12.nm.us 

Judy Cano
DVE, RSE, STE, SPE
PH: 575-882-6762
jcano@gisd.k12.nm.us

Veronica Lugo
AE, BE, LUE, NVE
PH: 575-882-6709
vlugo@gisd.k12.nm.us

Jose Reyes
CHE, DTE, SRE, YHE
PH: 575-882-6718
joreyes@gisd.k12.nm.us 

 

Secondary ELL Specialists

Martha C. Reyes 
CHS, GHS, STHS
PH: 575-882-6764
mcreyes@gisd.k12.nm.us

Esmeralda Sanxter 
CMS, GMS, STMS
PH: 575-882-6707
mesanxter@gisd.k12.nm.us

Bilingual